The Medieval Journey proposes the visiting of the stronghold's remnants surrounding the town with enclosure walls, zwingers, towers and bastions built up between the XIVth and the XVIIth centuries, which create a unique cultural landscape within their natural environment.
The journey follows largely the itinerary of the historical promenades of the end of the XIXth century, having as starting point the alley After the Walls, set up between the external curtain of the north-western fortifications and Graft canal, through which it was diverged the water excess from „Șcheii Brașovului” neighbourhood, detouring the stronghold and constituting an additional defensive element. The wall of the first enclosure of the stronghold, located towards the interior, used to be fastened with towers of rectangular plan, the gap between the two curtains, called zwinger, being assigned for defence in this area to the corporations of the procurators, the glove-makers and the butchers. After a devastating flooding, which affected its foundations, the external wall has been consolidated with three abutment arches, in 1882, of which only one is conserved nowadays, the other two being demolished along with the segment of the wall they used to support, in 1902. At the end of the XIXth century, on the versant towards the town of the Romurilor's Hill The Royal Promenade has been set up. The north-western fortifications of the stronghold have been restored between 1968-1969 and 2003-2004.